On an Atom (End of All Things)

10/09/2013 at 20:18 (Personal, Poetry, Writing) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )


So, traipsing around inside my head only recalls echoed footfalls. Trickle and trace, the dance comes around again, and I find myself with sweat-rimed skin and empty eyes. There’s only so long I can breathe.

I tried. I found. I spoke. Flailed and fought, and damnit where do things go when you lay them down for a moment? Around the Nick, I need to padlock my possessions down, as the guys have kleptomania for mugs and coffee. Chocolate doesn’t stand a chance.

I love them all. They drive me mad, like all the best ones do.

I can’t imagine life outside these city walls. I’m frittering with emails, trying to find somewhere new to live, old to exist in. These stones are my mind, ancient and antiquated like good wine, fine bones, knowing eyes. I’d jump off them all into the dark, if I didn’t think it’d land me in a cell down the road. They’d laugh with me, turn turn again.

The night is cold with feelings and air, and I’m at a loss in the face of blank space and time. Stuck inside a circumstance.
The editing went well though.

Sometimes I find my face in a window and forget my name in the absence of things to throw.

LOUD thoughts. Not gone yet, nope. Still there, itching my brain. Bastards with sticky fingers, daemons with claws, and a tightrope to walk. Normal, sane, what’s in a name? Mine’s printed on the back of someone’s hand. They’ll wipe it off in a moment, an ink smear, a loose connection.

Freefall always works best for me when cut to the tune of a diamond song.

Friend or foe? Under the bone-white light, who could say where that word lands.
****
I can always rely on the sky.

End of All Things

At the end of all things, as the sun
Flares brighter, eclipsing the night
While the stars scream death-songs, the light
Shall dwindle and fade in all eyes.

 photo 5464aac6-536a-4765-9aae-a00a8814dc29_zps3afca367.jpg

And in the shivering darkness
Your winter, the echoing sighs
Of battles fought and lost, and won,
Shall pale in the memory of time.

 photo aaee3f17-6f69-4f44-b39d-94b62058f8ed_zpse86f6702.jpg

No longer the soil grows, to be scarred
With reason, with motive or sense
No longer the bellies shall echo, love
As the Horsemen dismount and relent.

 photo bb4471f5-9702-484b-816f-9f6aac43cf33_zpsee0bd0c9.jpg

Now watch as the tides draw back, the surf
A brilliant white, in which the sun drowns
Your hand everlasting, warm with regret
Shall find and take mine, as we wait.

 photo da18878c-7d0a-4f6c-80d4-b82294c9e846_zpsf2472bf7.jpg

The years and the days in passing, love
Have mocked me as only a clock face can
The silence and stillness now are friends
At the end of all things, as we stand.

 photo 4c821bb3-0257-4da9-a74e-c0071fb2e6fa_zpsccd4cb05.jpg

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nina Jobe

Tracking Corruption Around the World

The Greek Analyst

NEWS AND ANALYSIS ON THE GREEK POLITICAL ECONOMY

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The World of Moose

Moose's art and stuff.

Yanis Varoufakis

thoughts for the post-2008 world

Foreign Policy

the Global Magazine of News and Ideas

