No more the Summer

01/09/2013 at 00:56 (Personal, Poetry, Writing) (, , , , , , , , , )


I asked for banners on the sky
For words to jag and scrawl intent
My eyes were blind to details loud
To smaller notes of what you meant

The empty sun that fills the west
Leaves only low light for my eyes
You gave enough to stay the course
With breathspace only as the prize

The pain of loss is chill as bone
And nothing fills the place you left
I am the one who took the most
And gave no peace, no careful rest

So heavy heart, you’ll pay the price
And know the petals falling thin
From roses left in summer’s heat
To dry, as autumn draws me in.

So actions speak aloud the words
For now I look; no hope to find
And here the story ends, untold
With only me, my selfish mind.

 photo ffa3a15f-3da0-4b17-a583-77ae9edfe2e4_zpsdd34d43d.jpg

10 Comments

  1. Jessica West said,

    Lessons learned, moving on,

    A new me faces every dawn.

    Let with these words come peace of mind.

    A blissful state, a life sublime.

  2. No more the Summer | Jessica P. West said,

    […] No more the Summer. […]

  3. stevenjsmith72 said,

    Beautifully sad. Language use is excellent. Seriously good.

    • celenagaia33 said,

      Thank you, so much. It’s been an interesting learning curve this year. I couldn’t find any other way to articulate it.

  4. Aquileana said,

    HELLO RACHAEL.

    BEAUTIFUL POEM. I LOVE HOW YOU RELATE HERE THE END OF A SEASON WITH A SENSE OF LOSS …

    WORTH NOTING THAT YOU HAVE CHOOSEN SUMMER AS THE SEASON OF REGRETS & SORROW AND NOT AUTUMN OR WINTER…

    THAT KEEPS YOUR POEM SAFE FROM COMMON PLACES & TRITE POETIC IMAGES.

    CONGRATULATIONS ON HOW YOU MANAGE WORDS NO MATTER WHICH LITERARY GENRE IS INVOLVED….

    SENDING YOU LOVE & WISHING YOU A GREAT WEEK AHEAD;

    AQUILEANA 😉

  5. The Administrator said,

    I admire how you weave in the sensations of heat, dryness, and even chill when conjuring the trials of the summer. Unfortunately, I sense no anticipation of relief with the coming autumn. I sincerely hope that won’t be the case.

    A lovely, reflective, emotional poem.

    • celenagaia33 said,

      Well, the other night when I wrote it, I certainly wasn’t in a good place. There was no light to be seen for me. But I’ve had a few days reflection, and a kaleidoscopic shift in perspective. I’m a lot stronger than I thought I was.
      All things move towards their end, eventually. x

  6. Amira K. said,

    Reblogged this on The Z-Axis and commented:
    A beautiful poem on the end of summer and the death of love, from my friend Rachael.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Nina Jobe

Tracking Corruption Around the World

The Greek Analyst

NEWS AND ANALYSIS ON THE GREEK POLITICAL ECONOMY

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The World of Moose

Moose's art and stuff.

Yanis Varoufakis

thoughts for the post-2008 world

Foreign Policy

the Global Magazine of News and Ideas

